Sign in to follow this  
DOC

Accents

Apparently Ozzie Osbourne’s accent was used by actors starring in Peaky Blinders to perfect the Brummie tones. They don’t sound right to me although I am no expert. Cillian Murphy’s attempt didn’t sound right Paul Anderson sounds very forced. I thought Sam Neill did a good Belfast accent , maybe Norm or Bastion mightn’t agree .? 

5 minutes ago, DOC said:

Apparently Ozzie Osbourne’s accent was used by actors starring in Peaky Blinders to perfect the Brummie tones. They don’t sound right to me although I am no expert. Cillian Murphy’s attempt didn’t sound right Paul Anderson sounds very forced. I thought Sam Neill did a good Belfast accent , maybe Norm or Bastion mightn’t agree .? 

First series the accents/dialects were awful, tho they have improved a lot series by series.

5 minutes ago, DOC said:

I really haven't heard a true brummie accent tbh so I couldn't say how accurate the accents portrayed were or not. Sam Neil certainly to what I have heard was near the mark with his Norn Irn accent but in the last series (NOT SEASION!!!!!!!) yon guy who was the leader of the 'Billy Boys'....well that accent, far from being a Scottish accent and in particular a Glasgow accent, was actually fucking atrocious.....about as bad as Mel Gibson in Bravefart!

1 minute ago, Harold said:

I really haven't heard a true brummie accent tbh so I couldn't say how accurate the accents portrayed were or not. Sam Neil certainly to what I have heard was near the mark with his Norn Irn accent but in the last series (NOT SEASION!!!!!!!) yon guy who was the leader of the 'Billy Boys'....well that accent, far from being a Scottish accent and in particular a Glasgow accent, was actually fucking atrocious.....about as bad as Mel Gibson in Bravefart!

To be fair, you don't sound like you come from Falkirk reading your post.

11 minutes ago, DOC said:

I'll be honest,  I thought Sam Neill was from Belfast (NI)